The Star Trek adventure continues

The Star Trek adventure goes on and on, with no limit to the galaxies that may be discovered. Paramount Pictures announced last Saturday that initial filming has commenced on the next chapter in that amazing voyage, another Star Trek film, as yet unnamed, that will see many of the same crew at the helm of the Starship Enterprise.

It’s director is J.J. Abrams, the man who re-launched the Star Trek franchise in 2009 to huge acclaim and box office success. In partnership with Skydance Productions, Paramount Pictures and Bad Robot, the company formed by J.J. Abrams in 2001, the sequel is set to premier on May 17th, 2013.

The 3-D production will star veteran cast members (in alphabetical order) John Cho, Bruce Greenwood, Simon Pegg, Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Zoe Saldana, Karl Urban and Anton Yelchin.

They will be joined by some new cast members including, as of last report, Alice Eve, Benedict Cumberbatch, Noel Clarke, Nazneen Contractor and Peter Weller.Based upon “Star Trek” created by Gene Roddenberry, the film is produced by J.J. Abrams, Bryan Burk, Damon Lindelof, Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci.

The script was written by Alex Kurtzman & Robert Orci & Damon Lindelof. Jeffrey Chernov, David Ellison, Dana Goldberg and Paul Schwake are the executive producers. The director of photography is Dan Mindel, ASC, BSC.

The production designer is Scott Chambliss. The film is edited by Maryann Brandon, A.C.E. and Mary Jo Markey, A.C.E. The costume designer is Michael Kaplan. The music is by Michael Giacchino.